#GMVEMSC: 2020 Ohio Hall of Fame Fire Service and Ohio Fire Awards Program Nominations



Dear EMS Colleagues,


EMS week is quickly approaching, May 17 - 23, 2020. This year the national theme is "Ready Today. Preparing for Tomorrow" which seems fitting for our Greater Miami Valley EMS Council Awards.


The PR Committee is seeking nominations for two awards to be handed out at an EMS Council Meeting. Remember that anyone who is a member of an agency that belongs to EMS can become a voting member on those and other committees.  If you are interested, reach out to the chair of the committee.


The first award is the Norma Dittrick Extra Measure of Service Award. This award is centered around significant contributions to EMS, contribution to the community and self-improvement.  You can find the criteria here: https://www.gmvemsc.org/uploads/nomination-dittrick.pdf


The second award is the Tom Long Lifetime Achievement Award, and it's designed to recognize outstanding individuals who have made a life-long contribution to the high quality of emergency medical services within the greater Miami Valley. The nomination form can be found here:  https://www.gmvemsc.org/uploads/nomination-long.pdf


Please share these award nominations with your agencies because we all are doing amazing work! Send all nominations to mpitstick@ccchd.com.


Please do not fill the nomination form out on the website and submit online.  Fill out the form and scan it in or simply email Michelle with your nominations.


If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out!




Michelle Clements-Pitstick

PR Committee Chair





ohio department of public safety - safety, service, protection


Ohio Emergency Medical Services

Robert L. Wagoner, Interim Executive Director




Ohio’s Fire Service:

Once again, the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Division of EMS and the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal are joining together to honor fire service members for exemplary service to their communities.

The joint awards program provides an opportunity for firefighters, family members, and friends to honor the sacrifices made every day by Ohio’s firefighters and educators. Whether it is the time necessary to train in the latest firefighting techniques or time putting those skills to use, the men and women who sacrifice for the safety of others will be recognized in a special program in September at the State Fire Marshal’s office.

Division of EMS awards include:

Ohio Fire Department of the Year

Ohio Fire Service Instructor of the Year

Ohio Fire Officer of the Year

Ohio Fire Prevention Educator of the Year

Ohio Fire Educator Lifetime Achievement Award


Division of State Fire Marshal awards include: 


Ohio Fire Service Citizen’s Award 

Ohio Fire Service First Responder Award 

Ohio Fire Service Valor Award 

Ohio Fire Service Distinguished Service Award 

William L. Howard Public Service Award 

Nominations for awards presented by the Division of EMS will be accepted until June 22, 2020.

Link to the fire awards nominations packet:  https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/fire_NominateHallofFame.pdf

Review the criteria for the available awards and return the nomination form by June 22, 2020 for the Division of EMS awards. They can be emailed to websfm@com.state.oh.us  or EMSFireEducation@dps.ohio.gov.

You may also send by mail to:

Division of State Fire Marshal, Attn: Tonia Smith

8895 East Main Street

Reynoldsburg, OH, 43068