#GMVEMSC: FW: 2018 Ohio Hall of Fame Fire Service and Ohio Fire Awards Program Nominations



ohio department of public safety - safety, service, protection


Ohio Emergency Medical Services

Melvin House, Executive Director




Ohio’s Fire Service:

Once again, the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Division of EMS and the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal are joining together to honor fire service members for exemplary service to their communities.

The joint awards program provides an opportunity for firefighters, family members, and friends to honor the sacrifices made every day by Ohio’s firefighters and educators. Whether it is the time necessary to train in the latest firefighting techniques or time putting those skills to use, the men and women who sacrifice for the safety of others will be recognized in a special program in September at the State Fire Marshal’s office.

Nominations for awards presented by the State Fire Marshal have closed.


Nominations for awards presented by the Division of EMS will be accepted until June 25,2018. Division of EMS awards include:


Ohio Fire Department of the Year

Ohio Fire Service Instructor of the Year

Ohio Fire Officer of the Year

Ohio Fire Prevention Educator of the Year

Ohio Fire Educator Lifetime Achievement Award

Link to the fire awards nominations packet:  http://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/fire_NominateHallofFame.pdf  

Review the criteria for the available awards and return the nomination form by June 25, 2018 for the Division of EMS awards. They can be emailed to web.sfm@com.ohio.gov  or EMSFireEducation@dps.ohio.gov.

You may also send by mail to:

Division of State Fire Marshal, Attn: Tonia Smith

8895 East Main Street

Reynoldsburg, OH, 43068